Members of the tribunal pose with other stakeholders after taking oath.

The Insurance Appeals Tribunal, the first of its kind in Uganda, has been sworn in.

The five-member tribunal, which is chaired by Ms. Rita Nangano Namakiika, was sworn in on Thursday, 03 March 2022 at the function presided over by Minister of State for General Duties Henry Musasizi,

Members include Mr. George Stephen Okotha, Mrs Solome Mayinja Luwaga, Dr Bbaale John Mayanja & Mrs. Adah Kabarokole Muwanga.

Musasizi called for consumer sensitization and awareness, noting that the overall Insurance penetration has stagnated at about 0.77% over the last 3 years.

He said the insurance services are expected to be an enabler in ensuring that the objectives of the national economy are achieved through mitigating risks.

The Insurance Appeals Tribunal was set to address matters or cases arising from disputes in the insurance sector.

The Minister responsible for finance is mandated by section 137 (7) of the Insurance Act to appoint members of the tribunal.

The chairperson and the members of the Tribunal are to hold office for a term of three years and shall be eligible for reappointment for one further term.