Constant Othieno Mayende (Left), president and Josephine Ossiya, Vice President. COURTESY PHOTO

The Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU) has elected CPA Constant Othieno Mayende president and CPA Josephine Ossiya as Deput President.

The two were elected during the Council of the ICPAU’s 26th Annual general meeting.

This is after a High Court ruling by Justice Musa Sekaana on 23 July 2021 determined that the Elections Committee had successfully concluded the elections and declared members that were to constitute the new Council. This is in accordance with the provisions of the Accountants Act, 2013, and therefore the new Council is lawfully sanctioned to transact the business of ICPAU.

CPA Mayende takes the reins from CPA Frederick Kibbedi, the 8th President of ICPAU, while CPA Ossiya is succeeding CPA Ruth Doreen Mutebe Nseko.

The ICPAU’s new Council is comprised of:

  1. CPA Constant Othieno Mayende (President) – Practitioner at CMK & Co. Certified Public Accountants
  2. CPA Josephine Okui Okwakol Ossiya (Vice President) – Practitioner at Rona & Partners Certified Public Accountants and Chief Finance Officer at Bujagali Energy Ltd
  3. CPA Assoc. Prof. Laura A. Orobia  – Associate Professor heading the Department of Accounting & Finance (Academics) at Makerere University Business School (MUBS)
  4. CPA Geoffrey Byamugisha – Practitioner at Ernst & Young Certified Public Accountants
  5. CPA Gloria Tuhaise Wakooba  – Deputy Director, Procurement and Disposal Department at Bank of Uganda
  6. CPA Ronald Mutumba  – Practitioner at Mutumba Mukobe & Associates Certified Public Accountants
  7. CPA Stephen Ineget  – Practitioner at KPMG  Certified Public Accountants
  8. Mr. Stephen Ojiambo – Accountant General’s Representative
  9. Mr. Edward Akol – Auditor General’s Representative
  10.  Ms. Sarah Tamale Namuli – Representative of Officer Responsible for Higher Education in the Ministry of Education and Sports
  11. Eng. Jackson Mubangizi – Ministerial Appointee

CPA Derick Nkajja, the Chief Executive Officer of ICPAU welcomed the new leadership by saying: “We welcome the new Council, President and Vice President and I call upon each one of us to diligently continue serving the accountancy profession of Uganda through their leadership.”

The ICPAU Council is composed of 11 members, 7 of whom are elected by full members of ICPAU, 3 ex-officio members and 1 member from a recognized professional body, appointed by the Minister for Finance. A minimum of 3 seats are reserved for women and 5 of 7 elected members must be practising accountants. The Council members, with the exception of the ex-officios, serve a two-year term which can be renewed only once.